COVID-19: Summer 2020 Tasting Experiences will resume on June 10.
Constructed in 1886 by a Scottish sea captain, Hamden McIntyre, Trefethen Family Vineayrds was originally known as Eshcol. McIntyre designed it as a gravity-flow system. When the Trefethen family purchased the property in 1968, the winery had fallen into serious disrepair. John and Janet committed themselves to restoring the building to its former glory.
Today, Trefethen Family Vineyards boasts a state-of-the-art fermentation facility and 13,000 square foot barrel cellar, but the McIntyre Building remains integral to the winery’s operations. The first floor is still used to age wine and also houses the winery’s Estate Tasting Room and Wine Library. The second floor, which displays the Eshcol winery’s original de-stemmer/crusher, is a barrel-aging cellar for the winery’s Bordeaux variety red wines.